About categorizing the needs of teams

Each team has individual needs

What does our team really need? And what are suitable team building measures to address that? These questions pose great challenges for managers and HR departments. Not only group size, budget and other general conditions must be taken into account, but above all the individual needs of the team. On the one hand, these reflect areas of development in team structure and group dynamics such as role allocation, self-reflection and communication culture. On the other hand, team needs can also be fun, relaxation and reward. The term need describes a necessity or a requirement, as in Maslow’s famous pyramid of needs (1954).

The requirements of a team thus form the basis for the demand for team building. The goal of team building is to meet the needs in the best possible way and to help the team to develop and grow. In contrast to training, team building focuses on interpersonal relationships, collaboration and fun.

Research has defined four different components of team building: goal setting, interpersonal relationships, problem solving and role clarification. These components serve as an orientation for the selection and design of team building activities. In addition, different stages of team development were defined (Tuckman & Jensen, 1977). These are phases that groups go through and which are characterized and accompanied by certain characteristics.

GREWP supports teams in exactly this selection – to find the right team building measure for the individual needs of the team.

 

The stages of a team

 

Figure 1. The three categories of the needs-scale.

The basis of our needs-scale is the division into three sub-categories (see Figure 1):

Plant. The team is at the beginning of its existence or shows fundamental fields of development. The group must first grow together and the foundations for effective cooperation must be laid. This includes solving conflicts and creating a we-culture. It is also necessary to define the roles of the individual members within the team.

Grow. The team has already grown together as a group, the cooperation works well. The goal is for the team to become more satisfied and performing and to further develop certain characteristics. We call this phase the growth phase, in which the members improve their communication, increase self-reflection and intensify the cooperation as a whole.

Earn. The team has proven itself as a group. This can be either a permanent state or it can refer to a specific common goal, such as the successful completion of a project. The team has earned a reward for this, in the form of fun, distraction from everyday work or relaxation.

This three-part structure reflects the aforementioned “states” of a team and at the same time defines various functions of team building. Each team can be in one of these three states at any time, regardless of the team’s cohesion and maturity. The three categories are subdivided into individual needs, which represent the necessities and demands in the respective phases. Your team may also have needs from different phases, but these serve as a good first orientation.

 

The needs-scale made by GREWP

Figure 2. The complete Needs Scale

 

Finding the matching team building activity

Team building should not only be fun but also result in the desired lasting effects for the team. In order to achieve this, it is firstly necessary to be aware of the stage the team is in and what the team wants to work on. GREWP’s needs-scale maps these phases and the respective needs.
The needs-scale is the cornerstone of the search process in our marketplace. This allows you to select the team building activities that fit your needs and to benefit from these activities in the long run. What do you really need? Let us define this together for your team.

 
Find the right team building
 

Literature

Tuckman, B. W., & Jensen, M. A. C. (1977). Stages of small-group development revisited. Group & Organization Studies, 2(4), 419-427.

Maslow, A. (1954) Motivation and personality. Harper

Rasmus Sinn | Working Student Business Psychology at GREWP

Über die Kategorisierung der Bedürfnisse von Teams

Jedes Team hat individuelle Bedürfnisse

Was braucht unser Team wirklich? Und was sind passende Teambuilding-Maßnahmen, um dies zu adressieren? Diese Fragestellungen stellen Führungskräfte und HR-Abteilungen vor große Herausforderungen. Hierbei sind nicht nur Gruppengröße, Budget und andere Rahmenbedingungen zu berücksichtigen, sondern vor allem die individuellen Herausforderungen aber auch Potentiale des Teams. Diese spiegeln zum einen Entwicklungsfelder in Teamstruktur und Gruppendynamik wie Rollenverteilung, Selbstreflexion und Kommunikationskultur wider. Zum anderen können Bedürfnisse des Teams auch Spaß, Entspannung und Belohnung sein. Zur Bezeichnung dieser Bedürfnisse eignet sich der englische Begriff Need, mit dem sich eine Notwendigkeit für etwas beschreiben lässt, wie beispielsweise in Maslows berühmter Bedürfnispyramide oder der Hierarchy of Needs (1954).

Die Needs eines Teams bilden somit die Grundlage für die Nachfrage nach Teambuilding. Ziel des Teambuildings ist es demnach, den Bedürfnissen bestmöglich nachzukommen und dem Team zu Weiterentwicklung und Wachstum zu verhelfen. In Abgrenzung zu Trainings liegt der Fokus bei Teambuilding auf zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen, Kollaboration und Spaß.

In der Forschung wurden vier verschiedene Komponenten von Teambuilding definiert: Zielsetzung, zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen, Problemlösen und Klärung der Rollen. Diese Komponenten dienen als Orientierung für die Auswahl sowie für die Gestaltung von Teambuilding-Aktivitäten. Des Weiteren lassen sich mit dem Phasenmodell für die Teamentwicklung unterschiedliche „states“ von Teams definieren (Tuckman & Jensen, 1977). Dies sind Phasen, die von Teams durchlaufen werden und die von bestimmten Eigenschaften geprägt und begleitet sind.

GREWP unterstützt Teams bei genau dieser Auswahl – die richtige Teambuilding-Maßnahme für die individuellen Needs des Teams zu finden.

 

Die Stadien eines Teams

 

Abbildung 1. Die drei Kategorien der Needs-Skala

Die Basis unserer Needs-Skala bildet die Unterteilung in drei Überkategorien (siehe Abbildung 1):

Plant. Das Team befindet sich am Anfang des Bestehens oder weist fundamentale Entwicklungsfelder auf. Die Gruppe muss zunächst zu zusammenwachsen und die Grundlagen einer effektiven Zusammenarbeit geschaffen werden. Darunter fällt das Lösen von Konflikten und die Schaffung einer Wir-Kultur. Außerdem ist es notwendig die Rollen der einzelnen Mitglieder innerhalb des Teams zu definieren.

Grow. Das Team ist als Gruppe bereits zusammengewachsen, die Zusammenarbeit funktioniert gut. Ziel ist es als Team noch zufriedener und performanter zu werden und bestimmte Eigenschaften weiterzuentwickeln. Diese Phase bezeichnen wir als Wachstumsphase, in der die Mitglieder ihre Kommunikation verbessern, die Selbstreflexion steigern und die Zusammenarbeit insgesamt intensivieren.

Earn. Das Team hat sich als Gruppe bewiesen. Dies kann sowohl ein dauerhafter Zustand sein, oder sich auf ein bestimmtes gemeinsames Ziel, wie den erfolgreichen Abschluss eines Projekts beziehen. Das Team hat sich hierfür eine Belohnung verdient, in Form von Spaß, Ablenkung vom Arbeitsalltag oder Entschleunigung.

Diese Dreiteilung bildet die zuvor genannten „states“ eines Teams ab und definiert gleichzeitig verschiedene Funktionen von Teambuilding. Jedes Team kann sich jederzeit in einem dieser drei Stadien befinden, unabhängig der Reife des Teams. Die drei Kategorien unterteilen sich in die einzelnen Needs, die die Bedürfnisse in den jeweiligen Phasen darstellen. Ihr Team kann auch Bedarfe aus unterschiedlichen Phasen haben, diese dienen als erste Orientierung.

 

Die Needs-Skala made by GREWP

Abbildung 2. Die vollständige Needs-Skala

 

Passgenaues Teambuilding finden

 Teambuilding sollte nicht nur Spaß machen, sondern für das Team gewünschte nachhaltige Effekte erzielen. Um dies zu erreichen, muss sich zunächst bewusst gemacht werden, in welcher Phase sich das Team befindet und was das Team verbessern oder erreichen möchte. Die Needs-Skala von GREWP bildet diese Phasen sowie die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse dieser Phasen ab.

Die Needs-Skala bildet das Kernstück der Suchmöglichkeiten auf unserem Marktplatz. So können Sie bei uns passgenaue Teambuilding-Aktivitäten auswählen und vom Mehrwert dieser langfristig profitieren. What do you really need? Lassen Sie uns dies gemeinsam für ihr Team definieren.

 
Passendes Teambuilding finden
 

Literatur

Tuckman, B. W., & Jensen, M. A. C. (1977). Stages of small-group development revisited. Group & Organization Studies2(4), 419-427.

Maslow, A. (1954) Motivation and personality. Harper

Rasmus Sinn | Werkstudent Business Psychology bei GREWP